Save the date: March 23, 2019!

Here's what happened in 2018:  ‘The Resurgonauts’ retain YMCA’s Battle of the Brains title

(Moncton, March 27, 2018) – ‘The Resurgonauts’ retained their championship title at the YMCA of Greater Moncton’s 17th annual Battle of the Brains trivia challenge held Saturday in support of the Y’s ReConnect program.

“It went down to the wire between The Resurgonauts and the Air Trivia Controllers but the Resurgo team took the win by two points,” says Bonnie MacFadyen, Vice-President of Philanthropy and Volunteer Development at the YMCA of Greater Moncton. “Congratulations to all of the teams that participated. We were once again impressed by the giving spirit of our awesome community!”

A total of $10,000 was raised in this year’s Battle of the Brains, with $166,000 collected through the event since it began in 2002. All money raised goes to the YMCA’s ReConnect Street Intervention Program, which helps local families and individuals who are homeless or at risk of becoming homeless.

Hosted by New Country 96.9 FM’s Scotty Horsman, this year’s Battle of the Brains saw 20 teams made up of four to six participants compete for bragging rights and a coveted, wrestling-style championship belt.

The winning Resurgonauts team from the City of Moncton’s Resurgo Place consisted of James Upham, Joanne Duguay, Brenda Orr, Lynne Post, Lawren Campbell and Cathrine Fulton.

During the 10-round competition, teams collectively answered questions on a wide range of topics from album covers to geography to celebrity weddings. Each team's performance was scored by a panel of judges that included YMCA of Greater Moncton CEO Zane Korytko, YMCA member Ana Berlie, YMCA Foundation Board Members Alan MacLellan and Alan Mongraw, and New Country 96.9 FM’s Tony Smith.

Employees from area businesses as well as groups of friends and neighbours made up teams at the event. Among the corporate groups were those from IGT, Tangerine, the City of Moncton, Asurion, Pepsi, NBCC, New Country 96.9 FM, C103, Bingham Law, Nav Canada, Jean Coutu, Probation Services, Eastern College and CGI.

A non-corporate team called the Academic Assassins returned this year and has participated in every competition since its inception. New teams on board this year included CGI and staff members from YMCA ReConnect, the program that benefits from the fundraiser.

Event sponsors included New Country 96.9 FM, C103, Pepsi and Inspiration Design. Supporters included Sonic Image Audio Visual, Bob Lee Productions and Sobeys Vaughan Harvey.

Réserve cette date: 23 mars 2019!

Voici ce qui s’est passé en 2018:
L’équipe des Resurgonautes conserve son titre de champion du jeu-questionnaire du YMCA

(Moncton, le 27 mars 2018) – Les Resurgonautes ont conservé leur titre de champions au 17Combat des cerveaux, un jeu-questionnaire annuel qui a eu lieu samedi afin d’aider le programme ReBrancher du YMCA du Grand Moncton.

« La lutte fut très serrée entre Les Resurgonautes et les Air Trivia Controllers, mais l’équipe Resurgo a remporté le championnat grâce à deux points », dit Bonnie MacFadyen, vice-présidente de la philanthropie et du développement du bénévolat au YMCA du Grand Moncton. « Félicitations à toutes les équipes qui ont participé. Une fois de plus, nous avons été impressionnés par l’esprit altruiste de notre collectivité géniale! »

On a amassé un total de 10 000 $ dans le cadre du Combat des cerveaux de cette année, ce qui porte à 166 000 $ le total amassé depuis le premier événement en 2002. Tout l’argent amassé est versé au programme d’intervention dans la rue du YMCA, appelé ReBrancher, qui aide les familles et les personnes de la région sans abri ou à risque de le devenir.

Animé cette année par Scotty Horsman de la station de radio, New Country 96,9 FM, le Combat des cerveaux de cette année a réuni 20 équipes composées de quatre à six participants. Elles se sont affrontées pour obtenir le droit de se vanter et la ceinture si convoitée de style lutteur.

L’équipe gagnante, Les Resurgonautes de la Place Resurgo de la Ville de Moncton, comprenait James Upham, Joanne Duguay, Brenda Orr, Lynne Post, Lawren Campbell et Cathrine Fulton.

Durant la compétition de 10 rondes de cette année, les équipes ont répondu collectivement à des questions sur une grande variété de sujets, notamment sur des pochettes de disque, la géographie et les mariages célèbres. Un jury a évalué le rendement de chaque équipe. Les juges de cette année comprenaient Zane Korytko, le PDG du YMCA du Grand Moncton; Ana Berlie, membre du YMCA; Alan MacLellan et Alan Mongraw, membres du conseil d’administration de la Fondation du YMCA; et Tony Smith de la station de radio, New Country 96,9 FM.

Des employés d’entreprises de la région ainsi que des groupes d’amis et de voisins ont composé les équipes de la compétition de cette année. Parmi les groupes constitués d’employés, il y avait IGT, Tangerine, la Ville de Moncton, Asurion, Pepsi, NBCC, New Country 96,9 FM, C103, Bingham Law, Nav Canada, Jean Coutu, Service de probation, Eastern College et CGI.

Une équipe non composée d’employés d’entreprise, appelée Academic Assassins, était de retour cette année. Elle participe au Combat des cerveaux depuis le début. Il y avait de nouvelles équipes, notamment CGI et des membres du personnel du programme ReBrancher du YMCA, à qui les fonds amassés sont versés.

New Country 96,9 FM, C103, Pepsi et Inspiration Design étaient les commanditaires de l’événement. Pour leur part, Sonic Image Audio Visual, Bob Lee Productions et Sobeys Vaughan Harvey ont assuré le soutien de l’événement.